York University Libraries Send feedback to library@yorku.ca

Pathfinder for resources in ...

Nursing

Nancy Kasper
Updated August 2001


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias Nursing Research
Electronic Journals Periodical Indexes
Evidence Based Nursing Specialized Websites
Handbooks Theorists 
Meta Sites


Other
 Pathfinders

Library Home

Periodical Indexes

  • Medline: PubMed
    Produced by the National Library of Medicine in the United States and covers virtually every area in the broad field of biomedicine including nursing.

[top of page] Go to top


Electronic Journals

[top of page] Go to top


Theorists

[top of page] Go to top


Evidence Based  Nursing

Evidence based Medicine is "the conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of the individual patients.
Sackett. British Medical Journal (1996)  312:71-2


Medicine

[top of page] Go to top


Meta Sites

[top of page] Go to top


Specialized Websites

[top of page] Go to top


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

American Nursing: A Bibliographical Dictionary. Vern L. Bullough, ed. New York: Garland, 1988-2000.
Contains brief biographical sketches of famous and/or influential American nurses.  Includes sources for further reading.
    
RT 34 A44 1988              
(Scott Reference)

A Dictionary of Nursing. Tanya A. McFerran, ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
Provides brief definitions of over 10, 000 terms and concepts related to the theory and practice of nursing, physiotherapy, radiography and similar professions.
    
RT 21 D537 1988              
(Scott Reference)

Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Allied Health. Benjamin Frank Miller. Philadelphia: Saunders, c1992.
Features brief definitions of thousands of terms plus longer encyclopedic entries for broader concepts and keywords.  A great deal of useful information is provided in the appendices.
    
R 121 M65 1992              
(Scott Reference)

Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing. Mary Jane Snodgrass. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
Presents background information and careers of noted healers, along with historical context, explanations of various health practices and innovations in treatment.  Includes references.  American emphasis.
    
RT 31 S66 1999              
(Scott Reference)

Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary.  Lois E. Anderson, ed. St. Louis: Mosby, c1998.
R 121 M89 1998               (Scott Reserve, Scott)

      
[top of page] Go to top


Handbooks

 Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice. Barbara Montgomery Dossey. Gaithersburg, Md.: Aspen Publishers, c2000.
A comprehensive guide to 'body-mind-spirit nursing' and complementary/alternative nursing practices.  Organized around five core areas: holistic philosophy, theories and research, self-care, communication, and the caring process.  Includes references.
    
RT 42 H65 2000               
(Scott)

Nurse's Fast Facts: The Only Book You Need for Clinicals. Brenda Walters Holloway. Philadelphia: F.A. Davis Co., c2001.
Practical information for nurses.
    
RT 51 H65 2001                (Scott)

Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: A Guide to Planning Care. Betty J. Ackley St. Louis: Mosby, 1999.
Features an alphabetical list of medical diagnoses and suggested nursing procedures, plus a guide to planning care.  Includes references.
    
RT 48.6 N87 1999                (Scott)

[top of page] Go to top


Nursing Research

Annotated Bibliography for Ethical Guidelines in the Conduct, Dissemination, and Implementation of Nursing Research. Mary Cipriano Silva. Washington, DC: American Nurses Association, c1995.
Provides citations and brief descriptions of published (mostly periodic) reseach on ethics in nursing research.  Organized by topic.  American emphasis.  Note 1994 to current only.
    
RT 81.5 S57 1995               
(Scott)

The Consumer's Guide to Nursing Research: Exercises, Learning Activities, Tools, and Resources. Holly Skodol Wilson.  Albany, NY: Delmar Publishers, 1996.
A workbook style manual and guide to practices of, and issues in, nursing.
RT 81.5 W53 1996                (Scott)

A Dictionary of Nursing Theo