York University Libraries Send feedback to library@yorku.ca

Pathfinder for resources in ...

American History

Revised: 23 July 1998



Scott Reference
Home

Library Home

The following is a selection of material available in various formats either in or through the York University Library System.  For assistance in locating other materials, ask a reference librarian at a Reference Desk or send your inquiry to us through e-mail .  The librarian responsible for collecting in this area is Brent Roe.


Guides to the Literature

Handbook for Research in American History: A Guide to Bibliographies and Other Reference Works. Francis Prucha. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1987. Scott Reference, Frost  Z 1236 P78 1987
A comprehensive introductory resource for all students of American history.

Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide. Ronald Fritze, Brian Coutts, Louis Vyhnanek. Santa Barbara, CA.: ABC-CLIO, 1990. Scott Reference, Frost Reference  Z 6201 F72 1990

[top of page] Go to top


Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionary of American History. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1976-1978. Revised edition. 8 vols. Scott Reference  E 174 D537 1976
Brief articles on the political, social, cultural and economic aspects of American history.
Encyclopedia of American History. Edited by Richard B. Morris and J.B. Morris. 6th ed. New York: Harper & Row, 1982. Scott, Scott Reserves  E 174.5 E52 1982
Part I is a chronology that presents the major political and military events. Part II is a "Topical Chronology" that covers American expansion, constitutional developments, demographic, economic and cultural trends. Part III consists of biographical sketches of noteworthy Americans.
Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America. Edited by John Faragher. New York: Facts on File, 1990. Scott Reference, Frost Reference  E 188 E63 1990
Handbook of the American Frontier: Four Centuries of Indian-White Relationships. J. Norman Heard. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1987- .5 vols. Scott Reference  E 76.2 H43 1987
Contains entries on topics such as: "American Indian tribes, leaders, frontier settlers, captives, explorers and missionaries." Scope of the work is from earliest contact into the twentieth century.
Oxford Companion to American History. Thomas H. Johnson. New York: Oxford University Press, 1966. Scott Reference  E 174 J6
Articles summarize the "lives, events and places significant in the founding of the nation." The longer articles sometimes conclude with bibliographies.

[top of page] Go to top


Chronologies

The Almanac of American History. Edited by Arthur M. Schlesinger. New York: Putnum, 1983. Scott Reference  E 174.5 A45 1983
Overview of American history from the year 989 to 1982.
The Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates. Gordon Carruth. 8th ed. New York: Harper & Row, 1987. Scott Reference  E 174.5 C3 1987

[top of page] Go to top


Annual Reviews & Current Events

The Annual Register. London: Longman, 1964-. Scott Reference, Scott, Frost Reference  D 2 A7 1964-.
A continuation of The Annual Register of World Events, 1758-1963. D 2 A7 1758-1963 Scott, Frost. Arranged by region or political unit, e.g., the U.N., and then by subject. Statistics, texts of documents and abstracts of speeches are included in the last chapter.
Facts on File. New York: Facts on File, 1940-. Scott Reference, Frost Reference        D 410 F32
A weekly digest of world news.

[top of page] Go to top


Biographical Information

Dictionary of American Biography. New York: Scribner, 1946-58. 11 vols. and supplement. Scott Reference, Frost Reference  E 176 D55
Supplemental Scott Reference  E 176 D55
Biographies of noteworthy Americans, from earliest times to 1940.
Encyclopedia of American Biography. John Garraty. New York: Harper & Row, 1974. Scott Reference  CT 213 G37 1974

[top of page] Go to top


Statistics

American Statistics Index. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1973-. Gov Docs Reference  Z 7554 U5 A46
Indexes and abstracts federal government publications which contain statistics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington: Government Printing Office. Scott Reference, Frost, Frost Reference  HA 202 A3
Gov Docs  US 1 C 72.4 St 28
The Statistical History of the United States, from Colonial Times to the Present. United States Bureau of the Census. New York: Basic Books, 1976. Gov Docs Reference  HA 202 A385 1976

[top of page] Go to top


Atlases

The American Heritage Pictorial Atlas of United States History. New York: American Heritage Pub. Co., 1966. Scott Reference  G 1201 S1 A4 1966
Atlas of American History. Robert Ferrell. New York: Facts on File, 1990. Scott Maps G 1201 S1 F4 1990

[top of page] Go to top


Bibliographies

Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature. London: Historical Association, 1911-. Scott Reference  Z 6205 H65
Bibliographic essay format. Has a chapter on "The Americas".
Bibliographies in American History, 1942-1978: A Guide to Materials for Research. Henry Putney Beers. Woodbridge, CT.: Research Publications, 1982, 2 vols. Scott Reference    Z 1236 B39 1982
Volume I is organized by topic. Volume II organized geographically. Includes a name and subject index.
Bibliographies in History: An Index to Bibliographies in History Journals and Dissertations Covering the U.S. and Canada. Santa Barbara, Calif., ABC-Clio, 1989. 2 vols. Scott Reference  Z 1236 B48 1988
Recently Published Articles. Washington: American Historical Association, 1976-1990.  15 vols. Scott, Frost Reference   Z 6205 A5a
Revolutionary America, 1763-1789: A Bibliography. Compiled by Ronald M. Gephart. Washington: Library of Congress, 1984. 2 vols. Scott Reference, Frost Reference Z 1238 G43 1984
U.S. Cultural History: A Guide to Information Sources. Philip Mitterling. Detroit: Gale, 1980. Scott Reference  Z 1361 C6 M57
Women in American History: A Bibliography. Cynthia E. Harrison. Santa Barbara, Calif: CLIO Press, 1979-. Scott Reference  Z 7962 H37
Writings in American History. Millwood, N.Y.: KTO Press. Scott Reference  E 171 W7

[top of page] Go to top


Newspaper Indexes

Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper. London: S. Palmer, 1868-1925. Scott Microtext  AI 21 T46 1790-1905
Index to the Times. London: Times Pub. Co. Scott Microtext  AI 21 T46
The New York Times Index to the Published News. New York, vols. 1913-. Scott Microtext, Frost Reference  AI 21 N44

[top of page] Go to top


Historical Indexes & Abstracts

America: History and Life. 1964-. Scott Reference, Frost Reference  Z 1236 A48
Quarterly. Includes American and Canadian history, culture, and current events.
C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1838-1974. Washington: Carrollton Press, 1977-. Scott Reference  Z 6205 C18

[top of page] Go to top


General Indexes & Abstracts

Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Scott Reference  AI 3 A63
Indexes journals in the arts and social sciences. Use the Source Index to find which articles an author has written. Use the Citation Index to see who has cited a particular author in their footnotes or bibliography.
Essay and General Literature Index. Scott Reference  AI 3 E75
Humanities Index. Scott Reference  AI 3 H85
Social Sciences Index. Scott Reference, Frost Reference   AI 3 S63
Social Sciences Citation Index. Scott Reference  Z 7163 S63

[top of page] Go to top